Thursday, January 30, 2014

Mass. Congressional Vote 0 - 9. Good News In-State!

H.R. 7 passed the U. S. House today by a vote of 227 to 188.  Sponsored by Reps. Chris Smith (R-NJ) and Dan Lipinski (D-Il.), the bill would codify the principles of the Hyde Amendment on a permanent, government-wide basis, applicable to both longstanding federal health programs and to the new programs created by Obamacare. Under the bill, health plans that cover elective abortions would not qualify for federal subsidies, although such plans could still be sold to those who wish to purchase them with personal funds.  Each of our Congresspersons voted to make each of us pay for abortion with our tax money.

Meanwhile, in the state, your calls are really working!

House Bill 3793 would make the Health Curriculum Framework the standard for all public schools.  The portions of the Framework dealing with sexuality are deeply troubling for parents. They would teach students as young as 14 how to obtain reproductive health services – contraception and abortion – without parental knowledge and may pave the way for eliminating parents' rights.  This bill seemed destined for an easy pass.  Because of your calls, it is  stalled.

Continue calling to tell your Representative to vote "no" on House Bill 3793.
For more information and for the phone number of your State Rep. visit our website,
  Or call the State House, 617-722-2000 and ask for your Rep.

DOCTOR-PRESCRIBED SUICIDE:  Listed below are the names and phone numbers of the Public Health Committee members.  If you are a constituent please call their office, RIGHT AWAY, and let them know that you do not want H.1998 to get out of committee.

House members: Chair, Jeffrey Sanchez (617-722-2130),  Vice-Chair, Jason Lewis (617-722-2017),  Ruth Balser (617-722-2396),  Christine Canavan (617-722-2575),  Carolyn Dykema (617-722-2210),  Christopher Fallon (617-722-2430),  Denise Garlick (617-722-2070),  James Lyons (617-722-2014),  Keiki Orrall (617-722-2090),  Carl Sciortino (617-722-2013),  Cleon Turner (617-722-2090)

Senate members:  Chair, John Keenan (617-722-1494),  Vice-Chair, Marc Pacheco (617-722-1551),  Donald Humason (617-722-1415),  Joan Lovely (617-722-1410),  James Timilty (617-722-1222)

Your calls are very important.  We see these two bills stopped in their tracks in the Massachusetts legislature.  Please keep up your calls and get many others to call.  We can beat these bills! 


No comments:

Post a Comment