Monday, July 30, 2012

Abortion Legal Until Birth in DC - U.S. House Votes July 31 to Overturn

The U.S. House of Representatives will vote on Tuesday, July 31, 2012, on legislation that will end the current legal policy allowing abortion, for any reason, until the moment of birth in our nation's capital.

The Council of the District of Columbia, employing authority delegated by Congress, repealed the entire D.C. abortion law.  Thus, in the nation's capital, abortion is currently legal for any reason through all nine months of pregnancy.

MCFL strongly supports the District of Columbia Pain-Capable Unborn Child Protection Act , H.R. 3803 because:

1) The U. S. constitution stipulates that Congress is supposed to vote on all legislation for DC

2)  H. R. 3803 has 223 House cosponsors

3)  According to June, 2012 poll, American adults would be more likely to vite for lawmakers who support this legislation by 58-27%, women more likely by 62-27%, men by 53-27%
Respondents favored, 63-21%, a policy of not permitting abortion anywhere "after the point where substantial medical evidence says that the unborn child can feel pain," unless it is "necessary to save a mother's life."  Women said "should not be permitted" by a margin of 70-18% percent.  Men said "should not be permitted" by a margin of 55-25%.

Doug Johnson, NRLC Legislative Director, says, "This roll call will be a landmark – the House has never before voted on the question of whether to endorse legal abortion for any reason until birth.  Under the Constitution, members of Congress and the President are ultimately accountable for the current abortion-until-birth policy.  Any lawmaker who votes against this bill is voting to ratify the extreme policy currently in effect in the nation's capital, where abortion is perfectly legal for any reason until the moment of birth."

Call your Congressman today or before 11am on Tuesday!  Thanks! Anne

Congressman John W. Olver , 202-225-5335
Congressman Richard E. Neal, 202-225-5601
Congressman James P. McGovern, 202-225-6101
Congressman Barney Frank, 202-225-5931
Congressman Niki Tsongas, 202-225-3411
Congressman John F. Tierney, 202-225-8020
Congressman Edward J. Markey, 202-225-2836
Congressman Michael Capuano, 202-225-5111
Congressman Stephen F. Lynch, 202-225-8273
Congressman William D. Keating, 202-225-3111

No comments:

Post a Comment